Effectively communicating anthropology to a general audience is a team sport, and our team is the best in the business.


Anthropology Now is an independent initiative committed to claiming a public voice for anthropology. We believe that anthropology has important insights to contribute to contemporary conversations and policy debates. Through our field research and in-depth, holistic analysis, anthropology presents an oblique perspective on mainstream common sense. By challenging taken for granted “truths,” we believe anthropology can enrich public understandings of the world.

Our peer-reviewed print magazine, Anthropology Now, published by Taylor & Francis, offers readers thought-provoking and timely content focused on contemporary issues and debates. We are committed to presenting our work in clear, accessible language, and offering our readers compelling stories and analysis. We are published three times a year in April, September and December.

In spring 2012, Anthropology Now began an official collaboration with the General Anthropology Division (GAD) of the American Anthropology Association. All GAD members are provided with an electronic subscription to Anthropology Now. For subscriptions, address changes, and advertising rates and schedules, contact Taylor & Francis at .


General editor

Karen-sue Taussig

Karen-Sue Taussig is Associate Professor of Anthropology at the University of Minnesota. Her ethnographic research focuses on the cultural dimensions of genomics, focusing primarily on Europe and the United States. Her current work examines the social and cultural practices associated with translating molecular knowledge into clinically useful interventions. She is also investigating the role of the idea of potential in relation to humanness in the context of life sciences and biotechnology.

Maria D. Vesperi

Executive Coordinating Editor

Emily Martin

First Associate Editor

Ida Susser

Associate Editor

Susan Harding

First Associate Editor

Rylan Higgins

Features Editor

Jen Hughes

Visual Essays Editor

Katie Nelson

Webmaster and Design Specialist

Kamran Asdar Ali

Books and Arts Review Editor

Erin Dean

Education Editor

Gina Athena Ulysse

Rasanblaj Editor

Anisha Chadha

Social Media Editor

Kathryn Weedman Arthur

Lee D. Baker

Don Brenneis

Joe Dumit

Christopher A. Furlow

Eben Kirksey

Conrad Kottak

Louise Lamphere

Shirley Lindenbaum

George Marcus

Paul Stoller

Frances Mascia-Lees

Katherine McCaffrey

Lorna Rhodes

Dan Segal

For technical questions, contact Webmaster Katie Nelson at knelson [@]